University Senate Bylaws, Article II., Section 5


The Library Committee represents faculty, academic professional, civil service, and student interest in the University libraries.


The Library Committee shall be composed of:
12 faculty/academic professional members,
4 students,
1 civil service member, and
ex officio representation as specified by vote of the University Senate.

Faculty, academic professional, civil service, and student members shall be appointed by the Committee on Committees. Academic professionals members must be eligible to serve in the Faculty Senate. Civil service members shall not be a library employee.

Duties and Responsibilities

a. To make recommendations to the Senate on all matters concerned with the policies and administration of University libraries.

b. To advise the directors and other heads of University libraries.

c. To evaluate University-wide library facilities, services, and collections.

d. To recommend to the Senate Consultative Committee such actions or policies as it deems appropriate.

(updated: 7/19/16)

Return to the Library Committee Homepage