University of Minnesota
University of Minnesota

Go to unit's home.


What is the Civil Service Senate?

The Civil Service Senate is part of the larger University governance system including the University Senate, Faculty Senate, P&A Senate, and Student Senate. It is a 50-member body that represents Civil Service employees at the University of Minnesota (U of MN). Members are elected by Civil Service employees throughout the University. The Civil Service Senate's responsibilities include but are not limited to matters concerning the employment conditions of Civil Service employees.

Through its executive committee (the Civil Service Consultative Committee) and subcommittees, the Civil Service Senate works in the areas of: benefits and compensation, communications, and the Civil Service Employment Rules. Each year the Civil Service Senate strives to become more involved in University governance, and continues to support the University's mission of teaching, research, and service.

History of the Civil Service Classification

The Civil Service employee group was one of the first employee groups created at the University. The University Civil Service classification was created in 1945 when the Board of Regents approved the Basic Law for Civil Service of the University of Minnesota. Currently, there are over 4500 employees in Civil Service classifications. Civil Service employees are professionals who perform a variety of non-teaching jobs in areas such as research, information technology, accounting, management, student services, and human resources.

History of Civil Service Governance

1945 - 2005 The Civil Service Committee

The Civil Service Committee was established by the Board of Regents in 1945. The Committee had five members appointed by the President and was charged with: 1) reviewing and conducting hearings on, and presenting recommendations to the President on the Civil Service Rules, and proposed changes in classification and compensation plans; 2) acting as a board of review on all cases involving an employee appeal of a director's decision; and 3) making investigations concerning personnel administration in the University Civil Service. Between 1945 and 1995 the Civil Service Committee (CSC) grew to 15 members. These members continued to be appointed by the President to 1) review and recommend rules and 2) advise the administration on any matters related to civil service conditions, benefits, compensation, and salary ranges.

2005 - Present Civil Service Senators to University Senate

In 2005, the University Senate took the groundbreaking step of including representatives from the Civil Service employee group. Twenty-three civil service employees were elected to serve in the University Senate. The CSCC chair and chair elect were also invited to serve on the Senate Consultative Committee which provides them with voting seats in the University Senate. The addition of the Civil Service senators gave Civil Service employees a greater voice in University governance, and led to opportunities for advancement and change.

2011 - Present Civil Service Senate

In the spring of 2010, the CSC voted to become a Civil Service Senate with a 13 member Civil Service Consultative Committee. The decision to become a Civil Service Senate is intended to align the CSC with the existing University Senate governance bodies, create greater opportunities for more Civil Service employees to participate in University governance, and increase the visibility of Civil Service employees. The change to a Civil Service Senate was effective July 1, 2011 following approval of the Board of Regents.