Faculty Senate | Senators

2017-18 Faculty Senate

President Eric KalerPresident Eric Kaler, chair, University/Faculty Senate

ekaler@umn.edu

 

 

Catherine French

Catherine French, vice chair, University/Faculty Senate

Civil, Environmental & Geo-Engineering
College of Science and Engineering
cfrench@umn.edu

 

Professor Joseph KonstanJoseph Konstan, chair, Senate/Faculty Consultative Committee

Computer Science & Engineering
College of Science and Engineering
konstan@umn.edu

 

Greta Friedemann-Sanchez

Greta Friedemann-Sanchez, vice chair, Senate/Faculty Consultative Committee

Global Policy
Humphrey School of Public Affairs
frie0013@umn.edu

 

Abimbola AsojoAbimbola Asojo, FCC member

Design, Housing & Apparel
College of Design
aasojo@umn.edu

 

Robert Blair

Robert Blair, FCC member

Fisheries, Wildlife & Conservation Biology
College of Food, Agricultural & Natural Resource Sciences
blairrb@umn.edu

 

Sheri BreenSheri Breen, FCC member

Political Science
University of Minnesota, Morris
breens@umn.edu

 

Tabitha Grier-ReedTabitha Grier-Reed, FCC member

Family Social Science
College of Education and Human Development
grier001@umn.edu

 

Peggy NelsonPeggy Nelson, FCC member

Speech, Language, Hearing Sciences
College of Liberal Arts
nelso477@umn.edu

 

Ned PattersonNed Patterson, FCC member

Veterinary Clinical Sciences
College of Veterinary Medicine
patte037@umn.edu

 

Amy PittengerAmy Pittenger, FCC member

Pharmaceutical Care & Health Systems
College of Pharmacy
alp@umn.edu

 

Peter TiffinPeter Tiffin, FCC member

Plant and Microbial Biology
College of Biological Sciences
ptiffin@umn.edu


Professor Bill ArnoldBill Arnold, Research chair

Civil, Environmental & Geo-Engineering
College of Science and Engineering
arnol032@umn.edu
 

Professor Daniel FeeneyDaniel Feeney, Finance and Planning Committee chair

Veterinary Clinical Sciences
College of Veterinary Medicine
feene001@umn.edu

 

Associate Professor Jennifer GoodnoughJennifer Goodnaugh, Educational Policy Committee chair

Chemistry
University of Minnesota, Morris
jenng@morris.umn.edu

 

Professor Robert KudrleRobert Kudrle, Faculty Affairs Committee chair

Freeman Center for International Economic Policy
Humphrey School of Public Affairs
kudrle@umn.edu

 

Michael OakesMichael Oakes, faculty legislative liasion

Epidemiology & Community Health
School of Public Health
oakes007@umn.edu

 

Donna Spannaus-MartinDonna Spannaus-Martin, faculty legislative liasion

Medical Laboratory Sciences
Center for Allied Health Programs
spann003@umn.edu

 

Wendy St. PeterWendy St. Peter, Academic Health Center Faculty Consultative Committee chair

Pharmaceutical Care & Health Systems
College of Pharmacy
stpet002@umn.edu


AHC Shared

Associate Professor Janice Conway-KlaassenJanice Conway-Klaassen, senator

Medical Lab Sciences
jconwayk@umn.edu

 

Assistant Professor Leann ShoreLeann Shore, senator

Occupational Therapy
shor0177@umn.edu

 

Carlson School of Management
 

Frank GiglerFrank Gigler, senator

Accounting
gigle003@umn.edu

 

 

George JohnGeorge John, senator

Marketing
johnx001@umn.edu

 

Senior Lecturer Svjetlana MadzarSvjetlana Madzar, senator

Management
smadzar@umn.edu

 

Professor Christopher NachtsheimChris Nachtsheim, senator

Supply Chain and Operations
nacht001@umn.edu

 

Professor Pervin ShroffPervin Shroff, senator

Accounting
shrof003@umn.edu

 

Alternates:

Associate Professor Frederico BeloFrederico Belo, senate alternate

Finance
fbelo@umn.edu

 

No picture availableIan Maitland, senate alternate

Strategic Management & Entrepreneurship
imaitlan@umn.edu


College of Biological Sciences

Mark BeeMark Bee, senator

Ecology, Evolution and Behavior
mbee@umn.edu

 

 

Sue GibsonSue Gibson, senator

Plant and Microbial Biology
gibso043@umn.edu

 

 

Georgiana MayGeorgiana May, senator

Ecology, Evolution and Behavior
gmay@umn.edu

 

 

Anke ReindersAnke Reinders, senator

Plant and Microbial Biology
anke@umn.edu

 


College of Continuing and Professional Studies

Teaching Specialist Robin MurieRobin Murie, senator

English Language Programs
rmurie@umn.edu


College of Design

Carol WaldronCarol Waldron, senator

Design, Housing, and Apparel
cwaldron@umn.edu

 

Professor Elizabeth ByeElizabeth Bye, senator

Design, Housing, and Apparel
ebye@umn.edu

 

Alternates:

No picture availableBrad Agee, senate alternate

Landscape Architecture
ageex004@umn.edu

 

No picture availableMarilyn Bruin, senate alternate

Design, Housing & Apparel
mbruin@umn.edu


College of Education and Human Development

Patricia AveryPatricia Avery, senator

Curriculum and Instruction
avery001@umn.edu

 

 

Kathleen CramerKathleen Cramer, senator

STEM Education Center
crame013@umn.edu

 

Irene DuranczykIrene Duranczyk, senator

CEHD Dean's Office
duran026@umn.edu

 

Professor Abigail GewirtzAbigail Gewirtz, senator

Institute for Translational Research in Children's Mental Health
agewirtz@umn.edu

 

Lori HelmanLori Helman, senator

Curriculum and Instruction
lhelman@umn.edu

 

Margaret KellyMargaret Kelly, senator

Family Social Science
deleh003@umn.edu

 

Kendall KingKendall King, senator

Curriculum and Instruction
kendall@umn.edu

 

Elizabeth LightfootElizabeth Lightfoot, senator

Social Work
elightfo@umn.edu

 

No picture availableSusan Staats, senator

Curriculum and Instruction
staats@umn.edu

 

Keisha VarmaKeisha Varma, senator

Educational Psychology
keisha@umn.edu

 

Steven YussenSteven Yussen, senator

Institute of Child Development
syussen@umn.edu

 

Alternates:

Assistant Professor Daheia Barr-AndersonDaheia Barr-Anderson, senate alternate

Kinesiology
barra027@umn.edu

 

Professor William BartWilliam Bart, senate alternate

Educational Psychology
bartx001@umn.edu

 

David ChristesenDavid Christesen, senate alternate

Organizational Leadership, Policy & Development
chri1614@umn.edu

 

Zan GaoZan Gao, senate alternate

Kinesiology
gaoz@umn.edu

 

Professor Jürgen KonczakJuergen Konczak, senate alternate

Kinesiology
jkonczak@umn.edu

 

Heidi PressleinHeidi Presslein, senate alternate

Social Work
pres0051@umn.edu


College of Food, Agricultural and Natural Resource Sciences

Melania FigueroaMelania Figueroa, senator

Plant Pathology
figue031@umn.edu

 

 

Gary GardnerGary Gardner, senator

Horticultural Science
ggardner@umn.edu

 

Associate Professor Bo HuBo Hu, senator

Bioproducts and Biosystems Engineering
bhu@umn.edu

 

Associate Director Kristine IgoKristine Igo, senator

Healthy Foods, Healthy Lives Institute
kigo@umn.edu

 

Stephen KellsStephen Kells, senator

Entomology
kells002@umn.edu

 

Professor Shri RamaswamyShri Ramaswamy, senator

Bioproducts and Biosystems Engineering
shri@umn.edu

 

Matthew RussellMatthew Russell, senator

Forest Resources
russellm@umn.edu

 

Professor Andrew SimonsAndrew Simons, senator

Fisheries, Wildlife and Conservation Biology
asimons@umn.edu

 

Chery SmithChery Smith, senator

Food Science and Nutrition
csmith@umn.edu

 

 

Assistant Professor Fabian FernandezFabian Fernandez, alternate for Peter Snyder, senator

Soil, Water and Climate
fabiangf@umn.edu

 

 

Eric WatkinsEric Watkins, senator

Horticultural Science
ewatkins@umn.edu

 


College of Liberal Arts

Peter CampionPeter Campion, senator

English
pcampion@umn.edu

 

 

Michael GallopeMichael Gallope, senator

Cultural Studies and Comparative Literature
mgallope@umn.edu

 

 

Michael GaudioMichael Gaudio, senator

Art History
gaudio@umn.edu

 

 

Profile IconMeredith Gill, senator

Cultural Studies and Comparative Literature
gill@umn.edu

 

 

Elizabeth KautzElizabeth Kautz, senator

CLA Language Center
kautz001@umn.edu

 

 

Betsy KerrBetsy Kerr, senator

French and Italian
bjkerr@umn.edu

 

 

Michael KimMichael Kim, senator

Music
mikim@umn.edu

 

 

Jeylan MortimerJeylan Mortimer, senator

Sociology
morti002@umn.edu

 

 

Profile IconFrancisco Ocampo, senator

Spanish and Portuguese
focampo@umn.edu

 

 

Profile IconSonali Pahwa, senator

Theatre Arts and Dance
pahwa007@umn.edu

 

 

Profile IconPaula Pentel, senator

Geography, Environment, and Society
pent0006@umn.edu

 

 

Matthew RahaimMatthew Rahaim, senator

Music
mrahaim@umn.edu

 

 

Arun SaldanhaArun Saldanha, senator

Geography, Environment, and Society
saldanha@umn.edu

 

 

Robert SchlauchRobert Schlauch, senator

Speech, Language, Hearing Sciences
schla001@umn.edu

 

 

Profile IconThomas Wolfe, senator

History
wolfe023@umn.edu

 

 

Yuhong YangYuhong Yang, senator

Statistics
yangx374@umn.edu

 


College of Pharmacy

No picture availableCheryl Ekegren-Kirby, senator

Professional Education
ekeg0005@umn.edu

 

Barry FinzelBarry Finzel, senator

Medicinal Chemistry
finze007@umn.edu

 

Professor Ronald SiegelRonald Siegel, senator

Pharmaceutics
siege017@umn.edu

 

Professor Todd SorensenTodd Sorensen, senator

Pharmaceutical Care & Health Systems
soren042@umn.edu

 

Alternates:

Professor W. Thomas ShierW. Thomas Shier, senate alternate

Medicinal Chemistry
shier001@umn.edu

 


College of Science and Engineering

Daniel Cronin-HennessyDaniel Cronin-Hennessy, senator

Physics and Astronomy
croni028@umn.edu

 

Professor Will DurfeeWill Durfee, senator

Mechanical Engineering
wkdurfee@umn.edu

 

Douglas ErnieDouglas Ernie, senator

Electrical and Computer Engineering
ernie@umn.edu

 

Associate Professor Jasmine FooJasmine Foo, senator

School of Mathematics
jyfoo@umn.edu

 

Steve KoesterSteven Koester, senator

Electrical and Computer Engineering
skoester@umn.edu

 

 

David KohlstedtDavid Kohlstedt, senator

Geology and Geophysics
dlkohl@umn.edu

 

 

Kevin LederKevin Leder, senator

Mechanical Engineering
lede0024@umn.edu

 

 

Ellen LongmireEllen Longmire, senator

Aerospace Engineering and Mechanics
longmire@umn.edu

 

 

Katsumi MatsumotoKatsumi Matsumoto, senator

Geology and Geophysics
katsumi@umn.edu

 

Professor David MorseDavid Morse, senator

Chemical Engineering and Materials Science
morse012@umn.edu

 

Gopalan NadathurGopalan Nadathur, senator

Computer Science and Engineering
nadat001@umn.edu

 

 

Nikolaos PapanikolopoulosNikolaos Papanikolopoulos, senator

Computer Science and Engineering
papan001@umn.edu

 

 

Marco PelosoMarco Peloso, senator

Physics and Astronomy
peloso@umn.edu

 

 

Valerie PierreValerie Pierre, senator

Chemistry
pierre@umn.edu

 

 

Clement PrykeClement Pryke, senator

Physics and Astronomy
cspryke@umn.edu

 

 

Claudia ScarlataClaudia Scarlata, senator

Physics and Astronomy
mscarlat@umn.edu

 

 

Lian ShenLian Shen, senator

Mechanical Engineering
shen@umn.edu

 

 

Carol ShieldCarol Shield, senator

Civil, Environmental, and Geo-Engineering
ckshield@umn.edu

 


College of Veterinary Medicine

Al BeitzAl Beitz, senator

Veterinary and Biomedical Sciences
beitz001@umn.edu

 

 

Rebecca DaviesRebecca Davies, senator

Veterinary Diagnostic Laboratory
rdavies@umn.edu

 

Associate Professor Molly McCueMolly McCue, senator

Veterinary Population Medicine
mccu0173@umn.edu

 

James MickelsonJames Mickelson, senator

Veterinary and Biomedical Sciences
micke001@umn.edu

 

 

Robert WashabauRobert Washabau, senator

Veterinary Population Medicine
washabau@umn.edu

 

Alternates:

Professor Mathur KannanMathur Kannan, senate alternate

Veterinary Population Medicine
washabau@umn.edu

 


Humphrey School of Public Affairs

Deborah LevisonDeborah Levison, senator

Minnesota Population Center
dlevison@umn.edu

 

Associate Professor Maria HanrattyMaria Hanratty, senator

Social Policy Analysis
hanra003@umn.edu


Law School

Brad KarkkainenBrad Karkkainen, senator

Law
bradk@umn.edu

 

 

Francis ShenFrancis Shen, senator

Law
fxshen@umn.edu

 


Libraries

Janice JaguszewskiJanice Jaguszewski, senator

Health Sciences Libraries
j-jagu@umn.edu

 

Erik MooreErik Moore, senator

University Archives
moore144@umn.edu

 

 

Elizabeth WeinfurterElizabeth Weinfurter, senator

Health Sciences Library
eweinfur@umn.edu

 

Alternates:

Megan KocherMegan Kocher, senate alternate

Research & Learning
mkocher@umn.edu


Medical School

Ioanna ApostolidouIoanna Apostolidou, senator

Anesthesiology
apost015@umn.edu

 

No picture availableAnn Arens, senator

Emergency Medicine
arens035@umn.edu

 

Professor Vivian BardwellVivian Bardwell, senator

Genetics, Cell Biology, & Development
bardw001@umn.edu

 

Gregory BeilmanGregory Beilman, senator

Surgery
beilm001@umn.edu

 

 

Kumar BelaniKumar Belani, senator

Anesthesiology
belan001@umn.edu

 

 

Lynne BemisLynne Bemis, senator

Biomedical Sciences
ltbemis@d.umn.edu

 

 

Maneesh BhargavaManeesh Bhargava, senator

Pulmonary, Allergy, Critical Care, and Sleep Medicine
bharg005@umn.edu

 

Professor Richard BiancoRichard Bianco, senator

Surgery
bianc001@umn.edu

 

Peter BittermanPeter Bitterman, senator

Pulmonary, Allergy, Critical Care, and Sleep Medicin
bitte001@umn.edu

 

Scott DehmScott Dehm, senator

Masonic Cancer Center
dehm@umn.edu

 

 

Marna EricsonMarna Ericson, senator

Dermatology
erics004@umn.edu

 

Dr. Miguel FiolMiguel Fiol, senator

Neurology
fiolx001@umn.edu

 

Assistant Professor Janet FitzakerleyJanet Fitzakerley, senator

Medical School - Duluth
jfitzake@d.umn.edu

 

Jerry FroelichJerry Froelich, senator

Radiology
froel005@umn.edu

 

 

Daniel GarryDaniel Garry, senator

Lillehei Heart Institute
garry@umn.edu

 

Professor David IngbarDavid Ingbar, senator

Medicine
ingba001@umn.edu

 

Hyun KimHyun Kim, senator

Pulmonary, Allergy, Critical Care, and Sleep Medicine
kimxx015@umn.edu

 

Dr. Tae KimTae Kim, senator

Anesthesiology
twkim@umn.edu

 

Mojca KoniaMojca Konia, senator

Anesthesiology
konia012@umn.edu

 

Professor Michael LeeMichael Lee, senator

Ophthalmology
mklee@umn.edu

 

Associate Professor Cindy MartinCindy Martin, senator

Medicine
cmmartin@umn.edu

 

Steven McLoonSteven McLoon, senator

Neuroscience
mcloons@umn.edu

 

 

Kaz NelsonKaz Nelson, senator

Psychiatry
kjnelson@umn.edu

 

 

Jan NorranderJan Norrander, senator

Genetics, Cell Biology and Development
norra001@umn.edu

 

 

Gulin OzGulin Oz, senator

Center for Magnetic Resonance Research
ozxxx001@umn.edu

 

Professor James PacalaJames Pacala, senator

Family Medicine and Community Health
pacal001@umn.edu

 

Angela Panoskaltis-MortariAngela Panoskaltis-Mortari, senator

Pediatrics
panos001@umn.edu


 

Mary PorterMary Porter, senator

Genetics, Cell Biology and Development
porte001@umn.edu

 

 

Marc PritzkerMarc Pritzker, senator

Cardiology
pritz001@umn.edu

 

 

Michel SandersMichel Sanders, senator

Biochemistry, Molecular Biology, and Biophysics
sande001@umn.edu

 

Professor Sara ShumwaySara Shumway, senator

Surgery
shumw001@umn.edu

 

Ramu TummalaRamu Tummala, senator

Neurosurgery
tumm0011@umn.edu

 

Professor Brian Van NessBrian Van Ness, senator

Genetics, Cell Biology, & Development
vanne001@umn.edu

 

Alternates:

Associate Professor Lisa ChowLisa Chow, senate alternate

Medicine
chow0007@umn.edu

 

 

Office of the Vice President for Research

No picture availableEdward Hinchcliffe, senator

The Hormel Institute

ehinchcliffe@hi.umn.edu


School of Dentistry

Conrado AparicioConrado Aparicio, senator

Restorative Sciences
apari003@umn.edu

 

 

Sandra MyersSandra Myers, senator

Diagnostic and Biological Sciences
myers025@umn.edu

 

 

Julie OlsonJulie Olson, senator

Diagnostic and Biological Sciences
jkolson@umn.edu

 


School of Nursing

Assistant Professor Raney LinckRaney Linck, senator

Academic Programs
jrlinck@umn.edu

 

Assistant Professor Maria RuudMaria Ruud, senator

Academic Programs
ruud0024@umn.edu

 

Kristine TalleyKristine Talley, senator

Center for Aging Science and Care Innovation
carl0106@umn.edu

 


School of Public Health

Professor Jon ChristiansonJon Christianson, senator

Health Policy & Management
chris001@umn.edu

 

John ConnettJohn Connett, senator

Biostatistics
john-c@umn.edu

 

Associate Professor Ezra GolbersteinEzra Golberstein, senator

Health Policy & Management
egolber@umn.edu

 

Michael OakesJ. Michael Oakes, senator

Epidemiology and Community Health
oakes007@umn.edu

 


University of Minnesota, Crookston

Rob ProulxRob Proulx, senator

Agriculture and Natural Resources
prou0041@crk.umn.edu

 


University of Minnesota, Duluth

No picture availableTom Ambrosi, senator

UMD Library
tambrosi@d.umn.edu


University of Minnesota, Extension

No picture availableJennifer Hawkins, senator

MNEXT Community Vitality, Rochester
hawki044@umn.edu

 

No picture availableStephanie Heim, senator

Food Policy Research Center
heim0106@umn.edu

 

Susanne HinrichsSusanne Hinrichs, senator

Regional Extension Office, Brainerd
hinri110@umn.edu

 

 

Lisa HinzLisa Hinz, senator

Regional Extension Office, Farmington
hinzx001@umn.edu

 

 

Bruce SchwartauBruce Schwartau, senator

Regional Extension Office, Rochester
bwschwar@umn.edu

 


University of Minnesota, Morris

Tammy BerberiTammy Berberi, senator

Humanities
berberit@morris.umn.edu

 

 

Windy Gonzalez RobertsWindy Gonzalez Roberts, senator

Humanities
wroberts@morris.umn.edu

 

 

Jennifer DeaneJennifer Deane, senator

Social Sciences
deanej@morris.umn.edu

 

 

Michelle PageMichelle Page, senator

Education
pagem@morris.umn.edu

 


University of Minnesota, Rochester

Rajeev MuthyalaRajeev Muthyala, senator

Chemistry
muthy004@umn.edu

 

Ryan FurnessRyan Furness, senator

Spanish
furne001@r.umn.edu