Faculty Senate | Senators

2018-19 Faculty Senate

President Eric KalerPresident Eric Kaler, chair, University/Faculty Senate

Office of the President
ekaler@umn.edu

 

Catherine French

Catherine French, vice chair, University/Faculty Senate

Civil, Environmental & Geo-Engineering
College of Science and Engineering
cfrench@umn.edu

 

Professor Joseph KonstanJoseph Konstan, chair, Senate/Faculty Consultative Committee

Computer Science & Engineering
College of Science and Engineering
konstan@umn.edu

 

Amy PittengerAmy Pittenger, vice chair, Senate/Faculty Consultative Committee

Pharmaceutical Care & Health Systems
College of Pharmacy
alp@umn.edu

 

Robert BlairRobert Blair, FCC member

Fisheries, Wildlife & Conservation Biology
College of Food, Agricultural & Natural Resource Sciences
blairrb@umn.edu

 

Sheri BreenSheri Breen, FCC member

Political Science
University of Minnesota, Morris
breens@umn.edu

 

Professor Phil BulhmannPhil Buhlmann, FCC member

Chemistry
College of Science and Engineering
buhlmann@umn.edu

 

Professor Sue ChuSue Chu, FCC member

Design, Housing, and Apparel
College of Design
schu@umn.edu

 

Colleen Flaherty ManchesterColleen Flaherty Manchester, FCC member

Work and Organizations
Carlson School of Management
cmanch@umn.edu

 

Tabitha Grier-ReedTabitha Grier-Reed, FCC member

Family Social Science
College of Education and Human Development
grier001@umn.edu

 

Lynn LukkasLynn Lukkas, FCC member

Art
College of Liberal Arts
lukkas@umn.edu

 

Peggy NelsonPeggy Nelson, FCC member

Speech, Language, Hearing Sciences
College of Liberal Arts
nelso477@umn.edu

 

Ned PattersonNed Patterson, FCC member

Veterinary Clinical Sciences
College of Veterinary Medicine
patte037@umn.edu

 

Peter TiffinPeter Tiffin, FCC member

Plant and Microbial Biology
College of Biological Sciences
ptiffin@umn.edu

 


FCC Ex Officio Members

Frank GiglerFrank Gigler, Finance and Planning Committee chair

Accounting
Carlson School of Management
gigle003@umn.edu

 

Professor Jennifer GoodnoughJennifer Goodnough, Educational Policy Committee chair

Chemistry
University of Minnesota, Morris
jenng@morris.umn.edu

 

Jessica LarsonJessica Larson, Academic Freedom & Tenure Committee chair

Studio Art
University of Minnesota, Morris
larsonje@morris.umn.edu

 

Professor Peh H. NgPeh Ng, Faculty Affairs Committee chair

Science and Math
University of Minnesota, Morris
pehng@morris.umn.edu

 

Wendy St. PeterWendy St. Peter, Academic Health Center Faculty Consultative Committee chair

Pharmaceutical Care & Health Systems
College of Pharmacy
stpet002@umn.edu

 

Professor Phil ZelazoPhilip Zelazo, Research chair

Child Development
College of Education and Human Development
zelazo@umn.edu

 


AHC Shared

Associate Professor Janice Conway-KlaassenJanice Conway-Klaassen, senator

Medical Lab Sciences
jconwayk@umn.edu

 

Assistant Professor Leann ShoreLeann Shore, senator

Occupational Therapy
shor0177@umn.edu

 


Carlson School of Management

Frank GiglerFrank Gigler, senator

Accounting
gigle003@umn.edu

 

George JohnGeorge John, senator

Marketing
johnx001@umn.edu

 

Senior Lecturer Svjetlana MadzarSvjetlana Madzar, senator

Management
smadzar@umn.edu

 

Professor Christopher NachtsheimChris Nachtsheim, senator

Supply Chain and Operations
nacht001@umn.edu

 

Professor Pervin ShroffPervin Shroff, senator

Accounting
shrof003@umn.edu

 

Alternates:

Frederico Belo, senate alternate

Finance
fbelo@umn.edu

Ian Maitland, senate alternate

Strategic Management & Entrepreneurship
imaitlan@umn.edu


College of Biological Sciences

Mark BeeMark Bee, senator

Ecology, Evolution and Behavior
mbee@umn.edu

 

Sue GibsonSue Gibson, senator

Plant and Microbial Biology
gibso043@umn.edu

 

Georgiana MayGeorgiana May, senator

Ecology, Evolution and Behavior
gmay@umn.edu

 

Anna MoserAnna Mosser, senator

Biology Teaching and Learning
amosser@umn.edu

 


College of Continuing and Professional Studies

Teaching Specialist Robin MurieRobin Murie, senator

English Language Programs
rmurie@umn.edu

 


College of Design

Professor Elizabeth ByeElizabeth Bye, senator

Design, Housing, and Apparel
ebye@umn.edu

 

Alternates:

Brad Agee, senate alternate

Landscape Architecture
ageex004@umn.edu

Marilyn Bruin, senate alternate

Design, Housing & Apparel
mbruin@umn.edu


College of Education and Human Development

Professor Abigail GewirtzAbigail Gewirtz, senator

Institute for Translational Research in Children's Mental Health
agewirtz@umn.edu

 

Katie Johnston-GoodstarKatie Johnston-Goodstar, senator

Social Work
john1906@umn.edu

 

Margaret KellyMargaret Kelly, senator

Family Social Science
deleh003@umn.edu

 

Kendall KingKendall King, senator

Curriculum and Instruction
kendall@umn.edu

 

Nicole LaVoiNicole LaVoi, senator

Kinesiology
nmlavoi@umn.edu

 

Elizabeth LightfootElizabeth Lightfoot, senator

Social Work
elightfo@umn.edu

 

No picture availableSusan Staats, senator

Curriculum and Instruction
staats@umn.edu

 

Keisha VarmaKeisha Varma, senator

Educational Psychology
keisha@umn.edu

 

 

Alternates:

Daheia Barr-Anderson, senate alternate

Kinesiology
barra027@umn.edu

William Bart, senate alternate

Educational Psychology
bartx001@umn.edu

David Christesen, senate alternate

Organizational Leadership, Policy & Development
chri1614@umn.edu

Zan Gao, senate alternate

Kinesiology
gaoz@umn.edu

Priscilla Gibson, alternate

Social Work
pgibson@umn.edu

Juergen Konczak, senate alternate

Kinesiology
jkonczak@umn.edu

Heidi Presslein, senate alternate

Social Work
pres0051@umn.edu

Sashank Varma, senator

Educational Psychology
sashank@umn.edu


College of Food, Agricultural and Natural Resource Sciences

George AnnorGeorge Annor, senator

Food Science & Nutrition
gannor@umn.edu

 

Jerry CohenJerry Cohen, senator

Horticultural Science
cohen047@umn.edu

 

Gary CooperGary Cooper, senator

Applied Economics
coope056@umn.edu

 

Fabian FernandezFabian Fernandez, senator

Soil, Water, and Climate
fabiangf@umn.edu

 

Gary GardnerGary Gardner, senator

Horticultural Science
ggardner@umn.edu

 

Associate Professor Bo HuBo Hu, senator

Bioproducts and Biosystems Engineering
bhu@umn.edu

 

Associate Director Kristine IgoKristine Igo, senator

Healthy Foods, Healthy Lives Institute
kigo@umn.edu

 

Stephen KellsStephen Kells, senator

Entomology
kells002@umn.edu

 

Professor Shri RamaswamyShri Ramaswamy, senator

Bioproducts and Biosystems Engineering
shri@umn.edu

 

Professor Andrew SimonsAndrew Simons, senator

Fisheries, Wildlife and Conservation Biology
asimons@umn.edu

 

Eric WatkinsEric Watkins, senator

Horticultural Science
ewatkins@umn.edu

 


College of Liberal Arts

Peter CampionPeter Campion, senator

English
pcampion@umn.edu

 

Michael GallopeMichael Gallope, senator

Cultural Studies and Comparative Literature
mgallope@umn.edu

 

Michael GaudioMichael Gaudio, senator

Art History
gaudio@umn.edu

 

Elizabeth KautzElizabeth Kautz, senator

CLA Language Center
kautz001@umn.edu

 

Michael KimMichael Kim, senator

Music
mikim@umn.edu

 

Profile IconFrancisco Ocampo, senator

Spanish and Portuguese
focampo@umn.edu

 

Profile IconSonali Pahwa, senator

Theatre Arts and Dance
pahwa007@umn.edu

 

Profile IconPaula Pentel, senator

Geography, Environment, and Society
pent0006@umn.edu

 

Matthew RahaimMatthew Rahaim, senator

Music
mrahaim@umn.edu

 

Arun SaldanhaArun Saldanha, senator

Geography, Environment, and Society
saldanha@umn.edu

 

Robert SchlauchRobert Schlauch, senator

Speech, Language, Hearing Sciences
schla001@umn.edu

 


College of Pharmacy

No picture availableCheryl Ekegren-Kirby, senator

Professional Education
ekeg0005@umn.edu

 

Thomas ShierThomas Shier, senator

Medicinal Chemistry
shier001@umn.edu

 

Professor Ronald SiegelRonald Siegel, senator

Pharmaceutics
siege017@umn.edu

 

Professor Todd SorensenTodd Sorensen, senator

Pharmaceutical Care & Health Systems
soren042@umn.edu

 


College of Science and Engineering

Daniel Cronin-HennessyDaniel Cronin-Hennessy, senator

Physics and Astronomy
croni028@umn.edu

 

Michelle DriessenMichelle Driessen, senator

Chemistry
mdd@umn.edu

 

Professor Will DurfeeWill Durfee, senator

Mechanical Engineering
wkdurfee@umn.edu

 

Douglas ErnieDouglas Ernie, senator

Electrical and Computer Engineering
ernie@umn.edu

 

No picture availableJarvis Haupt, senator

Electrical and Computer Engineering
jdhaput@umn.edu

 

Steve KoesterSteven Koester, senator

Electrical and Computer Engineering
skoester@umn.edu

 

Professor Timothy LaParaTimothy LaPara, senator

Civil, Environmental, and Geo-Engineering
lapar001@umn.edu

 

Mihai MarasteanuMihai Marasteanu, senator

Civil, Environmental, and Geo-Engineering
maras002@umn.edu

 

 

Professor David MorseDavid Morse, senator

Chemical Engineering and Materials Science
morse012@umn.edu

 

Gopalan NadathurGopalan Nadathur, senator

Computer Science and Engineering
nadat001@umn.edu

 

Nikolaos PapanikolopoulosNikolaos Papanikolopoulos, senator

Computer Science and Engineering
papan001@umn.edu

 

Clement PrykeClement Pryke, senator

Physics and Astronomy
cspryke@umn.edu

 

Jonathan SachsJonathan Sachs, senator

Biomedical Engineering
jnsachs@umn.edu

 

Professor Jeffrey SchottJeffrey Schott, senator

Chemical Engineering/Materials Science
jschott@umn.edu

 

Lian ShenLian Shen, senator

Mechanical Engineering
shen@umn.edu

 

Carol ShieldCarol Shield, senator

Civil, Environmental, and Geo-Engineering
ckshield@umn.edu

 

Beth StadlerBeth Stadler, senator

Electrical and Computer Engineering
stadl002@umn.edu

 


College of Veterinary Medicine

Rebecca DaviesRebecca Davies, senator

Veterinary Diagnostic Laboratory
rdavies@umn.edu

 

Associate Professor Molly McCueMolly McCue, senator

Veterinary Population Medicine
mccu0173@umn.edu

 

Robert WashabauRobert Washabau, senator

Veterinary Population Medicine
washabau@umn.edu

 


Humphrey School of Public Affairs

 

Associate Professor Maria HanrattyMaria Hanratty, senator

Social Policy Analysis
hanra003@umn.edu

 


Law School

Professor Carol ChomskyCarol Chomsky, senator

Law
choms001@umn.edu

 

Francis ShenFrancis Shen, senator

Law
fxshen@umn.edu

 


Libraries

Janice JaguszewskiJanice Jaguszewski, senator

Health Sciences Libraries
j-jagu@umn.edu

 

Megan KocherMegan Kocher, senator

Research & Learning
mkocher@umn.edu

 

Elizabeth WeinfurterElizabeth Weinfurter, senator

Health Sciences Library
eweinfur@umn.edu

 


Medical School

Ioanna ApostolidouIoanna Apostolidou, senator

Anesthesiology
apost015@umn.edu

 

No picture availableAnn Arens, senator

Emergency Medicine
arens035@umn.edu

 

Professor Vivian BardwellVivian Bardwell, senator

Genetics, Cell Biology, & Development
bardw001@umn.edu

 

Gregory BeilmanGregory Beilman, senator

Surgery
beilm001@umn.edu

 

Kumar BelaniKumar Belani, senator

Anesthesiology
belan001@umn.edu

 

Professor Richard BiancoRichard Bianco, senator

Surgery
bianc001@umn.edu

 

Peter BittermanPeter Bitterman, senator

Pulmonary, Allergy, Critical Care, and Sleep Medicin
bitte001@umn.edu

 

Scott DehmScott Dehm, senator

Masonic Cancer Center
dehm@umn.edu

 

Marna EricsonMarna Ericson, senator

Dermatology
erics004@umn.edu

 

Dr. Miguel FiolMiguel Fiol, senator

Neurology
fiolx001@umn.edu

 

Assistant Professor Janet FitzakerleyJanet Fitzakerley, senator

Medical School - Duluth
jfitzake@d.umn.edu

 

Jerry FroelichJerry Froelich, senator

Radiology
froel005@umn.edu

 

Professor David IngbarDavid Ingbar, senator

Medicine
ingba001@umn.edu

 

Dr. Bharathi JagadeesanBharathi Jagadeesan, senator

Radiology
jagad002@umn.edu

 

Dr. Kristen JonesKristen Jones, senator

Neurosurgery
kejones@umn.edu

 

Dr. Tae KimTae Kim, senator

Anesthesiology
twkim@umn.edu

 

Mojca KoniaMojca Konia, senator

Anesthesiology
konia012@umn.edu

 

Dr. Matt KushnerMatt Kushner, senator

Psychiatry
kushn001@umn.edu

 

Professor Michael LeeMichael Lee, senator

Ophthalmology
mklee@umn.edu

 

Associate Professor Cindy MartinCindy Martin, senator

Medicine
cmmartin@umn.edu

 

Kaz NelsonKaz Nelson, senator

Psychiatry
kjnelson@umn.edu

 

Dr. Kendra NordgrenKendra Nordgren, senator

Biomedical Sciences
knordgre@d.umn.edu

 

Jan NorranderJan Norrander, senator

Genetics, Cell Biology and Development
norra001@umn.edu

 

Gulin OzGulin Oz, senator

Center for Magnetic Resonance Research
ozxxx001@umn.edu

 

Professor James PacalaJames Pacala, senator

Family Medicine and Community Health
pacal001@umn.edu

 

Dr. Teresa Rose-HellekantTeresa Rose-Hellekant, senator

Physiology & Pharmacology
trosehel@umn.edu

 

Kyriakie SarafoglouKyriakie Sarafoglou, senator

Pediatric Endicrinology and Genetics & Metabolism
saraf010@umn.edu

 

Professor Sara ShumwaySara Shumway, senator

Surgery
shumw001@umn.edu

 

Dr. Brian SickBrian Sick, senator

Internal Medicine and Pediatrics
drbsick@umn.edu

 

Dr. John SongJohn Song, senator

General Internal Medicine
songx006@umn.edu

 

Dr. Subbaya SubramanianSubbaya Subramanian, senator

Surgery
subree@umn.edu

 

Ramu TummalaRamu Tummala, senator

Neurosurgery
tumm0011@umn.edu

 

Dr. Steven C. WuSteven Wu, senator

Integrative Biology/Physiology
cwu@umn.edu

 

Alternates:

Lisa Chow, senate alternate

Medicine
chow0007@umn.edu


Office of the Vice President for Research

Dr. Yibin DengYibin Deng, senator

The Hormel Institute
dengx103@hi.umn.edu

 

No picture availableTed Hinchcliffe, senator

The Hormel Institute
ehinchcliffe@hi.umn.edu

 


School of Dentistry

Julie OlsonJulie Olson, senator

Diagnostic and Biological Sciences
jkolson@umn.edu

 


School of Nursing

Assistant Professor Raney LinckRaney Linck, senator

Academic Programs
jrlinck@umn.edu

 

Assistant Professor Maria RuudMaria Ruud, senator

Academic Programs
ruud0024@umn.edu

 

Kristine TalleyKristine Talley, senator

Center for Aging Science and Care Innovation
carl0106@umn.edu

 


School of Public Health

Professor Jon ChristiansonJon Christianson, senator

Health Policy & Management
chris001@umn.edu

 

Associate Professor Ezra GolbersteinEzra Golberstein, senator

Health Policy & Management
egolber@umn.edu

 

Professor Ruby NguyenRuby Nguyen, senator

Epidemiology
nguy0082@umn.edu

 

Professor Todd Rockwood and his corgiTodd Rockwood, senator

Health Policy & Management
rockw001@umn.edu

 


University of Minnesota, Crookston

No picture availableKara Bowen, senator

Business
klbowen@crk.umn.edu

 


University of Minnesota, Duluth

No picture availableTom Ambrosi, senator

UMD Library
tambrosi@d.umn.edu

 


University of Minnesota, Extension

No picture availableSilvia Alvarez de Davila, senator

MNEXT Family Development
salvarez@umn.edu

 

No picture availableJennifer Hawkins, senator

MNEXT Community Vitality, Rochester
hawki044@umn.edu

 

No picture availableStephanie Heim, senator

Food Policy Research Center
heim0106@umn.edu

 

No picture availablePatrick Jirik, senator

MNEXT Youth Development
pjirik@umn.edu

 

Bruce SchwartauBruce Schwartau, senator

Regional Extension Office, Rochester
bwschwar@umn.edu

 


University of Minnesota, Morris

No picture availableJoseph Alia, senator

Chemistry
aliaj@morris.umn.edu

 

Tammy BerberiTammy Berberi, senator

Humanities
berberit@morris.umn.edu

 

No picture availableBradley Deane, senator

Humanities
deaneb@morris.umn.edu

 

Jennifer DeaneJennifer Deane, senator

Social Sciences
deanej@morris.umn.edu

 

Windy Gonzalez RobertsWindy Gonzalez Roberts, senator

Humanities
wroberts@morris.umn.edu

 

No picture availableNic McPhee, senator

Science & Math
mcphee@morris.umn.edu

 

Michelle PageMichelle Page, senator

Education
pagem@morris.umn.edu

 


University of Minnesota, Rochester

Ryan FurnessRyan Furness, senator

Spanish
furne001@r.umn.edu

 

No picture availableMarcia Nichols, senator

UMR Academic Programs
mdnichol@umn.edu

 

View or download a PDF of Faculty Senate membership and current openings