Faculty Senate | Senators

2019-20 Faculty Senate

President Joan GabelPresident Joan T.A. Gabel, chair, University/Faculty Senate

Office of the President


 

Professor Carol ChomskyCarol Chomsky vice chair, University/Faculty Senate

Law School
choms001@umn.edu

 

Amy PittengerAmy Pittenger, chair, Senate/Faculty Consultative Committee

Pharmaceutical Care and Health Systems
College of Pharmacy
alp@umn.edu

Professor Phil BulhmannPhil Buhlmann, vice chair, Senate/Faculty Consultative Committee

Chemistry
College of Science and Engineering
buhlmann@umn.edu

Professor Mark Bee holds a tiny frog on his thumb; in the background, computer screens display dataMark Bee, FCC member

Ecology, Evolution and Behavior
College of Biological Sciences
mbee@umn.edu

 

Sheri BreenSheri Breen, FCC member

Political Science
University of Minnesota, Morris
breens@umn.edu

 

Peggy NelsonPeggy Nelson, FCC member

Speech, Language, and Hearing Sciences
College of Liberal Arts
nelso477@umn.edu

 

Colleen Flaherty ManchesterColleen Flaherty Manchester, FCC member

Work and Organizations
Carlson School of Management
cmanch@umn.edu

 

Professor Rhonda FranklinRhonda Franklin, FCC member

Electrical and Computer Engineering
College of Science and Engineering
rfranklin@umn.edu

 

Tabitha Grier-ReedTabitha Grier-Reed, FCC member

Family Social Science
College of Education and Human Development
grier001@umn.edu

 

Professor Michael KybaMichael Kyba, FCC member

Pediatrics
Medical School
kyba@umn.edu

 

Lynn LukkasLynn Lukkas, FCC member

Art
College of Liberal Arts
lukkas@umn.edu

 

Ned PattersonNed Patterson, FCC member

Veterinary Clinical Sciences
College of Veterinary Medicine
patte037@umn.edu

 


AHC Shared

Associate Professor Janice Conway-KlaassenJanice Conway-Klaassen, senator

Medical Lab Sciences
jconwayk@umn.edu

 

Assistant Professor Leann ShoreLeann Shore, senator

Occupational Therapy
shor0177@umn.edu

 

 


Carlson School of Management

Frank GiglerFrank Gigler, senator

Accounting
gigle003@umn.edu

 

George JohnGeorge John, senator

Marketing
johnx001@umn.edu

 

Senior Lecturer Svjetlana MadzarSvjetlana Madzar, senator

Management
smadzar@umn.edu

 

 

Professor Christopher NachtsheimChris Nachtsheim, senator

Supply Chain and Operations
nacht001@umn.edu

 

Professor Pervin ShroffPervin Shroff, senator

Accounting
shrof003@umn.edu

 

Alternates:

Frederico Belo, senate alternate

Finance
fbelo@umn.edu

Ian Maitland, senate alternate

Strategic Management & Entrepreneurship
imaitlan@umn.edu


College of Biological Sciences

James Cotner stands near a body of waterJames Cotner, senator

Ecology, Evolution and Behavior
cotne002@umn.edu

 

 

Professor Max Kramer stands outside a brick buildingMaxwell Kramer, senator

Biology Teaching and Learning
kram0247@umn.edu

 

 

Anna MoserAnna Mosser, senator

Biology Teaching and Learning
amosser@umn.edu

 

 

Professor Jeffrey SimonJeff Simon, senator

Genetics, Cell Biology and Development
simon004@umn.edu

 

 

Professor Emilie Snell-Rood poses with a butterfly resting on her outstretched fingerEmilie Snell-Rood, senator

Ecology, Evolution and Behavior
emilies@umn.edu

 

 

Alternates:

Sehoya Cotner, senate alternate

Biology Teaching and Learning
sehoya@umn.edu

Laurie Parker, senate alternate

Biochemistry, Molecular Biology, and Biophysics
llparker@umn.edu


College of Continuing and Professional Studies

Teaching Specialist Robin MurieRobin Murie, senator

English Language Programs
rmurie@umn.edu

 

 


College of Design

James Boyd-BrentJames Boyd-Brent, senator

Design, Housing, and Apparel
jboydbre@umn.edu

 

 

Professor Elizabeth ByeElizabeth Bye, senator

Design, Housing, and Apparel
ebye@umn.edu

 

 

Alternates:

Linsey Griffin, senate alternate

Design, Housing, and Apparrel
lgriffin@umn.edu

Malini Srivastava, senate alternate

Architecture
malini@umn.edu


College of Education and Human Development

Professor Abigail GewirtzAbigail Gewirtz, senator

Institute for Translational Research in Children's Mental Health
agewirtz@umn.edu

 

Katie Johnston-GoodstarKatie Johnston-Goodstar, senator

Social Work
john1906@umn.edu

 

 

Margaret KellyMargaret Kelly, senator

Family Social Science
deleh003@umn.edu

 

Nicole LaVoiNicole LaVoi, senator

Kinesiology
nmlavoi@umn.edu

 

 

No picture availableSusan Staats, senator

Curriculum and Instruction
staats@umn.edu

 

Oliver WilliamsOliver Williams, senator

Social Work
owilliam@umn.edu

 

 

Rose VukovicRose Vukovic, senator

Educational Psychology
rvukovic@umn.edu

 

 

Alternates:

Daheia Barr-Anderson, alternate

Kinesiology
barra027@umn.edu

William Bart, alternate

Educational Psychology
bartx001@umn.edu

David Christesen, alternate

Organizational Leadership, Policy & Development
chri1614@umn.edu

Zan Gao, alternate

Kinesiology
gaoz@umn.edu

Priscilla Gibson, alternate

Social Work
pgibson@umn.edu

Juergen Konczak, alternate

Kinesiology
jkonczak@umn.edu

Heidi Presslein, alternate

Social Work
pres0051@umn.edu

Sashank Varma, alternate

Educational Psychology
sashank@umn.edu


College of Food, Agricultural and Natural Resource Sciences

Professor David AndowDavid Andow, senator

Entomology
dandow@umn.edu

 

 

George AnnorGeorge Annor, senator

Food Science & Nutrition
gannor@umn.edu

 

 

Professor Changbin Chen amongst tomato plants, wearing a U of M hatChangbin Chen, senator

Horticulutral Science
chenx481@umn.edu

 

 

Jerry CohenJerry Cohen, senator

Horticultural Science
cohen047@umn.edu

 

Gary CooperGary Cooper, senator

Applied Economics
coope056@umn.edu

 

 

Professor Ann Fallon holds a test tube; behind her is a computer screen showing dataAnn Fallon, senator

Entomology
fallo002@umn.edu

 

 

Professor George Heimpel outdoors on a sunny dayGeorge Heimpel, senator

Entomology
heimp001@umn.edu

 

 

Associate Professor Bo HuBo Hu, senator

Bioproducts and Biosystems Engineering
bhu@umn.edu

 

Associate Director Kristine IgoKristine Igo, senator

Healthy Foods, Healthy Lives Institute
kigo@umn.edu

 

Professor Shri RamaswamyShri Ramaswamy, senator

Bioproducts and Biosystems Engineering
shri@umn.edu

 

Professor Andrew SimonsAndrew Simons, senator

Fisheries, Wildlife and Conservation Biology
asimons@umn.edu

 

 

Professor David SmithDavid Smith, senator

Food Science and Nutrition
desmith@umn.edu

 

 


College of Liberal Arts

No picture availableMeraj Ahmed, senator

Asian Language & Literatures
ahmedm@umn.edu

 

Aren AizuraAren Aizura, senator

Gender, Women, and Sexuality Studies
azaizura@umn.edu

 

No picture availableOfelia Ferran, senator

Spanish & Portuguese Studies
ferra007@umn.edu

 

Tony BrownTony Brown, senator

Cultural Studies and Comparative Literature
tcbrown@umn.edu

 

Jack DeWaardJack DeWaard, senator

Sociology
djewaard@umn.edu

 

V.V. GaneshananthanV.V. Ganeshananthan, senator

English
vganesha@umn.edu

 

Claire HalpertClaire Halpert, senator

Linguistics
halpert@umn.edu

 

Jaime HannekenJaime Hanneken, senator

Spanish & Portuguese Studies
hanne045@umn.edu

 

Miranda JosephMiranda Joseph, senator

Gender, Women, and Sexuality Studies
josephm@umn.edu

 

Kyung KimKyung Kim, senator

Music
krkim@umn.edu

 

Bonnie Klimes-DouganBonnie Klimes-Dougan, senator

Psychology
klimes@umn.edu

 

No picture availableMichelle Lekas, senator

Cultural Studies and Comparative Literature
mlekas@umn.edu

 

Frances Matos-SchultzFrances Matos-Schultz, senator

Spanish & Portuguese Studies
matos001@umn.edu

 

Professor Liza MeredithLiza Meredith, senator

Psychology
mere0032@umn.edu

 

Ellen Messer-DavidowEllen Messer-Davidow, senator

English
emd@umn.edu

 

Michael MintaMichael Minta, senator

Political Science
mdminta@umn.edu

 

Lena PalaciosLena Palacios, senator

Gender, Women, and Sexuality Studies
lena@umn.edu

 

Christopher PexaChristopher Pexa, senator

English
cpexa@umn.edu

 

Nida SajidNida Sajid, senator

Asian Languages & Literatures
nsajid@umn.edu

 

Julie SchumacherJulie Schumacher, senator

English
schum003@umn.edu

 

Ying SongYing Song, senator

Geography, Environment, and Society
yingsong@umn.edu

 

Scott St GeorgeScott St. George, senator

Geography, Environment, and Society
stgeorge@umn.edu

 

Matthew WeberMatthew Weber, senator

Journalism & Mass Communication
msw@umn.edu

 

Profile IconJan Werner, senator

Economics
jwerner@umn.edu

 


College of Pharmacy

No picture availableCheryl Ekegren-Kirby, senator

Professional Education
ekeg0005@umn.edu

 

Thomas ShierThomas Shier, senator

Medicinal Chemistry
shier001@umn.edu

 

 

Professor Ronald SiegelRonald Siegel, senator

Pharmaceutics
siege017@umn.edu

 

Wendy St. PeterWendy St. Peter, senator

Pharmaceutical Care & Health Systems
stpet002@umn.edu

 


College of Science and Engineering

Professor Jennifer AlexanderJennifer Alexander, senator

History of Science, Technology, and Medicine
alexa056@umn.edu

 

Michelle DriessenMichelle Driessen, senator

Chemistry
mdd@umn.edu

 

Will DurfeeWill Durfee, senator

Mechanical Engineering
wkdurfee@umn.edu

 

Professor Ryan ElliottRyan Elliott, senator

Aerospace Engineering & Mechanics
relliott@umn.edu

 

Douglas ErnieDouglas Ernie, senator

Electrical and Computer Engineering
ernie@umn.edu

 

No picture availableJarvis Haupt, senator

Electrical and Computer Engineering
jdhaput@umn.edu

 

Professor Ravi JanardanRavi Janardan, senator

Computer Science and Engineering
janardan@umn.edu

 

Professor Timothy LaParaTimothy LaPara, senator

Civil, Environmental, and Geo-Engineering
lapar001@umn.edu

 

Professor Kevin LederKevin Leder, senator

Industrial and Systems Engineering
lede0024@umn.edu

 

Professor Vuk MandicVuk Mandic, senator

Physics & Astronomy
vuk@umn.edu

 

Mihai MarasteanuMihai Marasteanu, senator

Civil, Environmental, and Geo-Engineering
maras002@umn.edu

 

Katsumi Matsumoto poses outdoors in the winterKatsumi Matsumoto, senator

Earth Materials Sciences
katsumi@umn.edu

 

Professor David MorseDavid Morse, senator

Chemical Engineering and Materials Science
morse012@umn.edu

 

Gopalan NadathurGopalan Nadathur, senator

Computer Science and Engineering
nadat001@umn.edu

 

Nikolaos PapanikolopoulosNikolaos Papanikolopoulos, senator

Computer Science and Engineering
papan001@umn.edu

 

Professor Theresa ReinekeTheresa Reineke, senator

Chemistry
treineke@umn.edu

 

Jonathan SachsJonathan Sachs, senator

Biomedical Engineering
jnsachs@umn.edu

 

Professor Jeffrey SchottJeffrey Schott, senator

Chemical Engineering/Materials Science
jschott@umn.edu

 

Beth StadlerBeth Stadler, senator

Electrical and Computer Engineering
stadl002@umn.edu

 

 


College of Veterinary Medicine

Dr. Sandra GoddenSandra Godden, senator

Veterinary Population Medicine
godde002@umn.edu

 

Jody LulichJody Lulich, senator

Veterinary Clinical Sciences
lulic001@umn.edu

 

Kent ReedKent Reed, senator

Veterinary and Biomedical Sciences
reedx054@umn.edu

 

Dr. Sheila TorresSheila Torres, senator

Veterinary Clinical Sciences
torre009@umn.edu

 

Dr. Bruce WalcheckBruce Walcheck, senator

Veterinary & Biomedical Sciences
walch003@umn.edu

 


Humphrey School of Public Affairs

Greta Friedemann-SanchezGreta Friedemann-Sanchez, senator

Global Policy
frie0013@umn.edu

 

Associate Professor Maria HanrattyMaria Hanratty, senator

Social Policy Analysis
hanra003@umn.edu

 


Law School

 

Francis ShenFrancis Shen, senator

Law
fxshen@umn.edu

 

Christopher SoperChristopher Soper, senator

Law
csoper@umn.edu

 


Libraries

Janice JaguszewskiJanice Jaguszewski, senator

Health Sciences Libraries
j-jagu@umn.edu

 

Megan KocherMegan Kocher, senator

Research & Learning
mkocher@umn.edu

 

Mariya GyendinaMariya Gyendina, senator

Arts & Humanities
mgyendin@umn.edu

 

 


Medical School

Professor Vivian BardwellVivian Bardwell, senator

Genetics, Cell Biology, & Development
bardw001@umn.edu

 

Professor Richard BiancoRichard Bianco, senator

Surgery
bianc001@umn.edu

 

Professor Eric BombergEric Bomberg, senator

Pediatrics
bombe002@umn.edu

 

Professor Lihsia ChenLihsia Chen, senator

Genetics, Cell Biology & Development
chenx260@umn.edu

 

Professor Christen EbensChristen Ebens, senator

Pediatrics
ebens012@umn.edu

 

Professor Tim EmoryTim Emory, senator

Radiology
emory002@umn.edu

 

Dr. Miguel FiolMiguel Fiol, senator

Neurology
fiolx001@umn.edu

 

Assistant Professor Janet FitzakerleyJanet Fitzakerley, senator

Medical School - Duluth
jfitzake@d.umn.edu

 

Professor Rahel GhebreRahel Ghebre, senator

Obstetrics & Gynecology
ghebr004@umn.edu

 

 

Professor Andrew GrandeAndrew Grande, senator

Neurosurgery
grande@umn.edu

 

 

Professor David IngbarDavid Ingbar, senator

Medicine
ingba001@umn.edu

 

Dr. Bharathi JagadeesanBharathi Jagadeesan, senator

Radiology
jagad002@umn.edu

 

Dr. Kristen JonesKristen Jones, senator

Neurosurgery
kejones@umn.edu

 

Dr. Tae KimTae Kim, senator

Anesthesiology
twkim@umn.edu

 

Professor Paula LudewigPaula Ludewig, senator

Physical Therapy
ludew001@umn.edu

 

Dr. Matt KushnerMatt Kushner, senator

Psychiatry
kushn001@umn.edu

 

Professor Michael LeeMichael Lee, senator

Ophthalmology
mklee@umn.edu

 

Associate Professor Cindy MartinCindy Martin, senator

Medicine
cmmartin@umn.edu

 

Professor Pawel MrozPawel Mroz, senator

Lab Medicine & Pathology
pmroz@umn.edu

 

 

Professor Elizabeth NeilElizabeth Neil, senator

Neurology
neile@umn.edu

 

 

Dr. Kendra NordgrenKendra Nordgren, senator

Biomedical Sciences
knordgre@d.umn.edu

 

 

Professor Mary OwenMary Owen, senator

Family Medicine
mjowen@d.umn.edu

 

 

Professor James PacalaJames Pacala, senator

Family Medicine and Community Health
pacal001@umn.edu

 

Professor Emilian RacilaEmilian Racila, senator

Lab Medicine & Pathology
evracila@umn.edu

 

 

Dr. Teresa Rose-HellekantTeresa Rose-Hellekant, senator

Physiology & Pharmacology
trosehel@umn.edu

 

 

Professor Kyriakie Sarafoglou; Moos Tower can be seen in the backgroundKyriakie Sarafoglou, senator

Pediatric Endicrinology and Genetics & Metabolism
saraf010@umn.edu

 

 

Professor Sara ShumwaySara Shumway, senator

Surgery
shumw001@umn.edu

 

Dr. Brian SickBrian Sick, senator

Internal Medicine and Pediatrics
drbsick@umn.edu

 

 

Professor Guisheng SongGuisheng Song, senator

Medicine
gsong@umn.edu

 

 

Dr. Subbaya SubramanianSubbaya Subramanian, senator

Surgery
subree@umn.edu

 

 

Professor Clifford SteerClifford Steer, senator

Medicine
steer001@umn.edu

 

 

Dr. Steven C. WuSteven Wu, senator

Integrative Biology/Physiology
scwu@umn.edu

 

 

Professor Phu TranPhu Tran, senator

Pediatrics
tranx271@umn.edu

 

 

Alternates:

Lisa Chow, senate alternate

Medicine
chow0007@umn.edu


Office of the Vice President for Research

Dr. Yibin DengYibin Deng, senator

The Hormel Institute
dengx103@hi.umn.edu

 

 

Ted HinchcliffeTed Hinchcliffe, senator

The Hormel Institute
ehinchcliffe@hi.umn.edu

 

 


School of Dentistry

Conrado AparicioConrado Aparicio, senator

Restorative Sciences
apari003@umn.edu

 

 

Sandra Myers

Sandra Myers, senator

Diagnostics and Biological Science
myers025@umn.edu

 

 

Julie OlsonJulie Olson, senator

Diagnostic and Biological Sciences
jkolson@umn.edu

 

Professor Rachel Uppgaard-Penaz sits on a step in front of an ornate maroon doorRachel Uppgaard-Penaz, senator

Surgical Science
uppg0003@umn.edu

 

 

Alternates:

Nelson Rhodus, senate alternate

Diagnostics and Biological Science
rhodu001@umn.edu


School of Nursing

Assistant Professor Raney LinckRaney Linck, senator

Academic Programs
jrlinck@umn.edu

 

Assistant Professor Maria RuudMaria Ruud, senator

Academic Programs
ruud0024@umn.edu

 

Kristine TalleyKristine Talley, senator

Center for Aging Science and Care Innovation
carl0106@umn.edu

 

 


School of Public Health

Professor Jon ChristiansonJon Christianson, senator

Health Policy & Management
chris001@umn.edu

 

Associate Professor Ezra GolbersteinEzra Golberstein, senator

Health Policy & Management
egolber@umn.edu

 

Professor Ruby NguyenRuby Nguyen, senator

Epidemiology
nguy0082@umn.edu

 

Professor Todd Rockwood and his corgiTodd Rockwood, senator

Health Policy & Management
rockw001@umn.edu

 

 


University of Minnesota, Crookston

No picture availableKara Bowen, senator

Business
klbowen@crk.umn.edu

 

Professor Theodore ChapmanTheodore Chapman, senator

Math, Science & Technology
tchapman@crk.umn.edu

 

 


University of Minnesota, Duluth

No picture availableTom Ambrosi, senator

UMD Library
tambrosi@d.umn.edu

 


University of Minnesota, Extension

No picture availableSilvia Alvarez de Davila, senator

MNEXT Family Development
salvarez@umn.edu

 

No picture availableJennifer Hawkins, senator

MNEXT Community Vitality, Rochester
hawki044@umn.edu

 

No picture availableStephanie Heim, senator

Food Policy Research Center
heim0106@umn.edu

 

No picture availablePatrick Jirik, senator

MNEXT Youth Development
pjirik@umn.edu

 

Bruce SchwartauBruce Schwartau, senator

Regional Extension Office, Rochester
bwschwar@umn.edu

 

 


University of Minnesota, Morris

Jennifer DeaneJennifer Deane, senator

Social Sciences
deanej@morris.umn.edu

 

Professor Bart FinzelBart Finzel, senator

Economica & Management
finzelbd@morris.umn.edu

 

 

Windy Gonzalez RobertsWindy Gonzalez Roberts, senator

Humanities
wroberts@morris.umn.edu

 

No picture availableNic McPhee, senator

Science & Math
mcphee@morris.umn.edu

 

 

Alternates:

Joseph Alia

Chemistry
aliaj@morris.umn.edu

Bradley Deane

Humanities
deaneb@morris.umn.edu


University of Minnesota, Rochester

Ryan FurnessRyan Furness, senator

Spanish
furne001@r.umn.edu

 

No picture availableMarcia Nichols, senator

UMR Academic Programs
mdnichol@umn.edu

 

 

View or download a PDF of Faculty Senate membership and current openings