University Senate | About

The University Senate is composed of 251 elected senators and 26 Senate Consultative Committee members. This includes faculty, civil service and P&A staff, and student representatives from the University of Minnesota Crookston, University of Minnesota Duluth, University of Minnesota Morris, University of Minnesota Rochester, and University of Minnesota Twin Cities campuses. The president of the University of Minnesota chairs the University Senate, and the vice chair is a faculty member. All ex officio members are non-voting.


2020-21 University Senate

President Joan T.A. Gabel headshotUniversity/Faculty Senate Chair

President Joan Gabel




Professor Phil BuhlmannSenate/Faculty Consultative Committee Chair

Professor Phil Buhlmann
College of Science & Engineering


Professor Carol ChomskyUniversity/Faculty Senate Vice Chair

Professor Carol Chomsky
Law School



Professor Robert GoldsteinUniversity/Faculty Senate Clerk

Professor Robert Goldstein
Carlson School of Management (CSOM)


Professor Mitchell ZamoffUniversity/Faculty Senate Parliamentarian

Professor Mitchell Zamoff
Law School


Amber BathkeStaff

Amber Bathke
Senate Associate
University Senate Office