History of the Civil Service Classification

The Civil Service employee group was one of the first employee groups created at the University. The University Civil Service classification was created in 1945 when the Board of Regents approved the Basic Law for Civil Service of the University of Minnesota. Currently, there are over 4500 employees in Civil Service classifications. Civil Service employees are professionals who perform a variety of non-teaching jobs in areas such as research, information technology, accounting, management, student services, and human resources.

History of Civil Service Governance

1945 - 2004 The Civil Service Committee

The Civil Service Committee was established by the Board of Regents in 1945. The committee had five members appointed by the president and was charged with: 1) reviewing and conducting hearings on, and presenting recommendations to the president on the Civil Service Rules, and proposed changes in classification and compensation plans; 2) acting as a board of review on all cases involving an employee appeal of a director's decision; and 3) making investigations concerning personnel administration in the University Civil Service. Between 1945 and 1995 the Civil Service Committee (CSC) grew to 15 members. These members continued to be appointed by the President to 1) review and recommend rules and 2) advise the administration on any matters related to civil service conditions, benefits, compensation, and salary ranges.

2004 - Present Civil Service Senators to University Senate

In 2004, the University Senate took the groundbreaking step of voting to include representatives from the Civil Service employee group in its membership. This change took effect the following year. Twenty-five civil service employees were elected to serve in the University Senate, including the CSCC chair and chair-elect. The addition of Civil Service senators provided Civil Service employees a greater voice in University Senate governance.

2011 - Present Civil Service Senate

In the spring of 2010, the CSC voted to become part of University Senate governance as a senate with a 13 member Civil Service Consultative Committee. The decision to become senate was intended to align the CSC with the existing University Senate governance bodies, create further opportunities for Civil Service employees to participate in governance, and increase the visibility of Civil Service employees. This change was effective July 1, 2011, following approval by the Board of Regents.